rumblestone firepit night

RumbleStone Firepit Update

The fire pit I built using Pavestone Rumblestone from Home Depot has had a few fires in it so far and I’m happy with how it’s stood up. I added a few LED down-lights to the corners and wired them into the stone. I was worried about the heat from the fire melting the wiring but after a 5 hour fire last night there doesn’t seem to be any problems. Although the outside of the stone got pretty warm to the touch I guess it dissipates the heat nicely. I didn’t glue down the top layer of stone so I could keep an eye on the wiring but feel pretty confident it will stand up now. I cut the groove for the wire with a Kobalt 4.5″ diamond blade on a grinder and it was a piece of cake, just dusty. (wear goggles and a dust mask)

For some stupid reason the Home Depot website doesn’t show the RumbleStone (?) except for some project guides. The one here in Huntersville, NC has it and it’s priced as follows:

RumbleStone Mini:  7″ L x 3 1/2″ W x 1 3/4″ H ($0.48)
RumbleStone Small: 3 1/2″ L x 7″ W x 3 1/2″ H (not at HD)
RumbleStone Medium: 7″ L x 7″ W x 3 1/2″ H ($1.98)
RumbleStone Large: 10 1/2″ L x 7″ W x 3 1/2″ H ($2.98)
RumbleStone Jumbo: 14″ L x 7″ W x 3 1/2″ H (not at HD)
RumbleStone Trapezoid: 6 1/2″ – 10 1/4″ L x 7″ W x 3 1/2″ H ($3.98)
 Dimensions are from Pavestone who actually makes the product.
 

See the details on the patio here, it’s made from free granite scraps that I got from a counter top store

 

*Update April 1st 2013 – After a few fires you can see the heat has burnt off or pulled out (?) the tan dye used in the stones and exposed what I’m guessing is the original reddish clay colour of the bricks. Other than that they have stood up well, the discolouring is only an inch or so in from the edge of the fire pit. Overall I’m happy with it.

IMG_0549

 

 

